What is DigComp And why does Include Her project focus on it?

 The European Digital Competence Framework for Citizens (DigComp) framework was developed by the European Commission and serves as a guidance to define and improve citizens’ digital competences. The first version of DigComp was published in 2013 and since then, multiple iterations have been implemented, involving a large community of stakeholders across Europe.

DigComp, identifies key components of digital competence in 5 areas:

  1. Information and Data Literacy
  2. Communication and Collaboration
  3. Digital Content Creation
  4. Safety
  5. Problem Solving

Each area comprises its own set of related digital competences. Overall, there are 21 digital competences identified across all 5 areas.

So for Include Her we like to refer and focus on the Digcomp framework as it is a critical tool for understanding digital competence. It helps align training, certification, and the needs of the job market. It increases mobility, opens educational opportunities, and helps empower individuals with digital skills.